Thank You to Our 1888 Society Members

Thank you to our

1888 Society Members

133 years serving Atlanta’s families.Sheltering Arms is a leading organization supporting equity in education and social and economic mobility for Atlanta’s marginalized communities.

In 1888, a group of Atlanta women from the First United Methodist Church discovered a child tied to a bedpost as a safety measure while her mother worked long hours in the cotton mills. Determined to help the children of mill workers, the women began to care for them at the mission, and Sheltering Arms was born.

Funding provided by The 1888 Society Membership supports:

  • Need-based tuition scholarships for young children ages 0-5 in Sheltering Arms high-quality, accredited early childhood education program
  • A comprehensive “2Gen” approach to family support services and life skills training
  • Year-round early literacy programming instilling in each child a love of learning and preparing them to succeed in school

1888 Society Member Complimentary Events

February 16, 2021 – Cocktails & ConversationWatch on Youtube

April 12-16, 2021 – Operation Storybook

April 14, 2021 – Cocktails & Conversation – 4-5 PM

June 24, 2021 – VIP Parent Celebration

September 17, 2021 – 1888 Society Appreciation Breakfast

September 23, 2021 – Embrace Early & Create the Future – 5:30-7:30 PM

December 10, 2021 – Coffee with the CEO – 9-9:30 AM

Current 1888 Society Members

Corporate Members



Gold Members


In Kind

Individual Members

CEO’s Circle


Liz and Frank Blake

Stephanie Blank

Anthony McWilliams

Founder’s Circle


Kathy and Alan Bremer

Carol and Jimmy Dew

Martha and Michael Greenway

Maria and Jeff Kammerer

Nicole Layne

Barbara Leonard

Ellen Macht

Patty and Doug Reid

Elane Stock

Stephanie and Rick Warren

Champion Level Members


Martha Abbott-Shim

John and Rosemary Brown

Helen and Wayne Cease

Karin and Brian Granville

Christi and Keir Masters

Anna and Summey Orr

Leona and Peter Rapelye

Laura and Duke Sullivan

Kathryn Valentine

Educator Level Members


Marcus Booth

Anne and Jim Carson

William Fogler

Heather and Dan Goerlich

Lori and Kevin Hamada

Clyde Hill

Catherine and Larry Hilton

Ruth Hough

Lori and Charles Kaczynski

Karen and Michael Leone de Nie

Steven Lovell

Pegui Mariduena

Nancy and Al Masi

Stephen Mayo

Andrew McConnell

Ursula McNeill and Patrice Hickman

John Morabito

Jeff Neppl

John Pelick

Josh Ray

Jessica and Christopher Reichart

Blythe Robinson

Kenneth Taunton

Elizabeth Towles

Yasmin Tyler-Hill

Kimberly and Kareem Washington

Greg Worrell

Advocate Level Members


Sam Allen

Lawrence Ashe

Julie and Jim Balloun

Jennifer and Tom Bell

Diane and Tom Bellem

Helen and Bennie Boswell

Leonard Boyd

Shatasha Brinson

Alyce Butner

Meria Carstarphen

Stiles and Neil Conrad

Tony Conway

Candis Curd

Michael Davis

Dan and Michelle Erling

Julie and Terry Fishman

Martha Foster

Sarah Gifford

Bill Graves

Stephanie Griffith-Lyles

John Hackett

Roselyn Hicks

Norman Hill

Larry and Catherine Hilton

Brian and Mandy Holmes

Julia Houston

Mary and Dennis Howie

Safia and Nuri Icgoren

Janet and George Johnson

Ms. Jordan Jordan

Kong Seng and Thao Kane

Grace and Chris Masi

Virginia and Edward Mitchell

Tameika Montgomery

Anthony Murray

Zach Parker

Nancy Pendergast

Egbert Perry

Cynthia Reed

Heather Robinson

Lovette and Michael Russell

Teddi Sanford

Michael Santos

Caryn Schilstra

Michele Schmitt

Keisha Simmons

Loni Smith

Bill Stevens

Dana Stolte

Alexandra Villanueva

Michele and Jack Walsh

Matt Westmoreland

Emma and Ron Whited

Yane and Benjamin Yoo